Redistricting commission staff releases third — and possibly final — congressional map

By: - September 23, 2021 4:50 pm

Transport judges Steve Sticker, left, and Dean Burton lift dozens of ballots out of a bag to be weighed at the Jefferson County elections office on Oct. 21, 2020. (Eli Imadali for Colorado Newsline)

Colorado’s Independent Congressional Redistricting Commission on Thursday released the latest — and possibly final — version of a plan to redraw the state’s congressional boundaries as the deadline for the once-a-decade redistricting process nears.

The new plan is the third map to be drawn by the commission’s nonpartisan state staff, based on feedback from its 12 appointed members — four Democrats, four Republicans and four unaffiliated voters.


If the commission can’t approve a new map by a two-thirds vote within the next week, the third staff plan will be submitted to the Colorado Supreme Court for review on Sept. 30.

Like several previous proposals, the latest map would draw the state’s newly apportioned 8th District on the northern edge of the Denver metro area. Based on vote totals from Colorado’s 2020 U.S. Senate race, the new district would be the most competitive in the state, with Democrats with an advantage of less than 2 points, according to data released by commission staff.

The third staff plan for a new Colorado congressional map released by the Independent Congressional Redistricting Commission. (ICRC)

All seven members of the House of Representatives in Colorado’s current congressional delegation — four Democrats, three Republicans — would be favored to keep their seats in the 2022 midterm elections, based on voting and registration data, though the boundaries of several existing districts would shift significantly.

Democratic Rep. Ed Perlmutter’s 7th District would expand south and west to include most of Jefferson County and nearby mountain communities, while Rep. Joe Neguse’s 2nd District would grow to include Jackson and Routt counties. Republican Rep. Doug Lamborn’s 5th District would shrink to comprise only the greater Colorado Springs area in western El Paso County.

The independent commission is the first of its kind to oversee redistricting under a process established by constitutional Amendments Y and Z, which were approved by Colorado voters in 2018.

Commissioners are scheduled to meet at 2 p.m. on Friday to hear a staff presentation on the third plan. Live audio and video feeds of the meeting can be found on the commission’s website.


Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our web site. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

Chase Woodruff
Chase Woodruff

Reporter Chase Woodruff covers the environment, the economy and other stories for Colorado Newsline.